2019 Image film awards gala

Image Film Awards Gala Graphic-02.png

2019 IMAGE Film Awards Gala

DATE: 4/3/2019
TIME: 6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
LOCATION: Fox Theatre
PRICE: $150 at the door and after 3/15, $125 early bird through 3/15, $120 for members, patrons and sponsors at anytime

Resurging after a decade of hiatus, the preeminent awards ceremony for the moving image in the state of Georgia, the IMAGE Film Awards Gala has recognized people who made outstanding contributions to building the state's film industry and community. Previous recipients include industry and community leaders like Dallas Austin, Ossie Davis, Ruby Dee, the Georgia Film Office, Virginia Hepner, Diane Ladd, Spike Lee, Governor Zell Miller, Will Packer, Parker Posey, Burt Reynolds, Michael Stipe, Tyler Perry Studios, and Cicely Tyson among others.

Retaining its original name, the IMAGE Film Awards Gala pays tribute to Atlanta Film Society’s (ATLFS) original name, IMAGE Film & Video. In the time that this event has been on hiatus, both Georgia’s film community & industry have gone through tremendous transformation. Annual spend on production has gone from over $200 million to over $2 billion while ATLFS has undergone some of the most significant evolution since its formation including a name change from IMAGE to Atlanta Film Society, experienced some of the most longevity in organization staff and leadership in five decades along with new events and programs like the Creative Conference, SOUND+VISION, New Mavericks, CineMás, PA Academy as well as increased profile, visibility and attendance at the annual Academy Award qualifying Atlanta Film Festival. These programs have been a platform for sharing, celebrating and elevating the work of hundreds of artists each year, workforce development of over 5,000 participants in ATLFS’ education and networking programs, and allowed for cultural engagement and enrichment of over 50,000 audience members annually. The IMAGE Film Awards Gala serves as the only fundraising event for the ATLFS and will be instrumental in growing the organization’s reach, impact and service to the community and artists it serves.

This year's Honorees:

*Featured from left to right

  • Chris Carr (Attorney General of Georgia)

  • Betsy Holland (Director of Culture & Engagement, Turner Broadcasting/Georgia House of Representatives, District 54)

  • Tip "T.I." Harris (Actor/Musician/Producer)

  • Tom Luse (Executive Producer, "The Walking Dead")